A Typical Microsoft Server Environment

10 02 2007

Brief Explanation

To explain the above Server Farm, I would go about describing each Section – Edge, Server and Client

Edge

This is the Gateway to the Outer World (Internet/External Network) to our Server Network. Microsoft Forefront Edge Security can be deployed to handle the Security Measures which includes Microsoft Internet and Acceleration Server (ISA)

Server

This is the heart of the Network. It contains all the necessary Servers to manage our Network.

    A Typical Microsoft Server Farm

    Server Farm

  • A Primary Domain Controller (DC) would act as the Global Catalog Master/Operations Master for our Domain
  • An Additional Domain Controller (ADC) can be present to act as a Backup Server if something happens to DC
  • To minimize the Installation and Usage of Applications across many of the Terminal Servers (TS), a Softgrid Application Server can be deployed to manage Applications Virtually across various Clients
  • Microsoft Sharepoint Portal Server and Exchange Server can be optional and they would provide Collaboration Tools to share across the Network or Domain.
  • File Server to store User’s Data globally. Remember, here, as this is considered to be a typical setup, I have put a Single File Server. But as Users Grow and Network also grow, there would be Cluster of File Servers

Microsoft Management Servers, would be Microsoft System Center Products (SM, MOM) which would help to manage the Microsoft Server Infrastructure in a simplified way

  • Microsoft Forefont Server Security Solution would provide the Security Measures across the available Servers

Client

Clients, as shown above, can be,

  • Laptop Users
  • PC Users
  • Thin Client Users

Microsoft Forefront Client Security Solution can be used for Security Measures across the Clients.

Hope this helps a few :), as this is the first version of my Server Environment. I would be doing good detailed study over the available Microsoft Technologies to update this Version.

Useful Links

Note

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.5 License

Actions

Information

11 responses

28 12 2012
Freeman

Good way of describing, and fastidious post to obtain information about my presentation topic,
which i am going to convey in institution of higher
education.

20 05 2013
apple blossom florist in winter park fl

Excellent way of telling, and fastidious piece of writing to take information concerning my presentation
topic, which i am going to convey in academy.

8 06 2013
weight loss diets

Incredible. That was a good read. I will reddit this webpage for later.
I like your style.

10 06 2013
hamilton golf

Link exchange is nothing else except it is just placing the other person’s website link on your page at proper place and other person will also do same for you.

13 06 2013
Online Marketing

Greate article. Keep posting such kind

of information on your page. Im really impressed by

your blog.
Hi there, You’ve performed an

excellent job. I’ll

certainly digg it and in my view recommend to my friends.
I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this web site.

12 07 2013
large appliance repair

Hola! I’ve been following your site for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Porter Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great job!

13 07 2013
heaters

Your style is very unique in comparison to other people I have
read stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this web site.

20 07 2013
refrigerator parts and repair

My partner and I stumbled over here from
a different page and thought I might as well check things out.
I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward
to going over your web page repeatedly.

30 07 2013
free.yudu.com

Very good information. Lucky me I recently found your website by
accident (stumbleupon). I’ve book marked it for later!

14 09 2013
Jaunita

Definitely believe that that you said. Your favorite reason seeemed tto be at the net the simplest factor to take into accout of.
I say to you, I definitely get irked at the same time as other people think about worries that tuey plainly don’t realize about.
You managed to hit the nail upon the highest and also defined out the whole thing
without having side effect , folks can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
Thank you

2 10 2013
bathroom remodeling companies

Hey there! This post couldn’t be written any better!
Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate!
He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this post to
him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

