Adding a WCF Service to your Application

30 07 2007

As told earlier, Windows Communication Foundation is the new Service Oriented programming model introduced and included in .NET 3.0 framework.

Visual Studio 2005 along with extensions of .NET 3.0 WPF/WCF, helps you create WCF Services and also WPF Applications.

Here I cover how to add a WCF Service to your Client application. I am going with the genreral steps and not specific to any binding (tcp binding/wshttpbinding/wsdualhttpbinding)

Once you have your Service ready and hosted in the machine/application/IIS, fire up your Client application

1) First, right click in your solution and you should have Add a Service Reference

2) Once you click on Add Reference, you would get a dialog box asking the Service URI and the Reference Name you would like to give for that service

3) If you are sure about the Service URI , you could complete the URI and Reference Name in the above dialog box itself, else, you could Browse for your Service by clicking on the Browse button.

So this Wizard helps you add your Service and also updates the necessary changes to app.config file and creates the WCf Proxy through which your Client application interacts with the Service.

Creative Commons License Creative Commons License

Actions

Information

11 responses

19 02 2009
Billigflug

Thank u for sharing that with us, was very useful.
I’ m used to Programm a small Client/ server applications using sockets on my ubuntu operating systems, it was so complicated with the number of Bytes sent and recieved that I have have always spent too much time searching for errors.
The programs that work are for example sending “hello” and receiving ” hello was sent”. 😦
WCf has solved the problems of security and has a better design and improves the communication with the client.

19 03 2014
traffic simulator

Heya! I know this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.

Does building a well-established website such as yours require a lot of work?
I’m completely new to writing a blog but I do write in my journal every
day. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my own experience and thoughts
online. Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers.

Thankyou!

22 03 2014
convert olm to pst

I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make
this website yourself or did you hire someone to do
it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u
got this from. appreciate it

22 03 2014
olm to windows Outlook

I’m more than happy to uncover this site. I wanted to thank you for ones time just
for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it and I
have you book-marked to look at new things on your blog.

23 03 2014
visit poster's website

What a data of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable experience concerning unexpected feelings.

25 03 2014
import apple mail into outlook 2011

These are actually enormous ideas in about
blogging. You have touched some pleasant things here.

Any way keep up wrinting.

26 03 2014
visit my site

Wow, fantastic weblog layout! How lengthy have
you been blogging for? you made running a blog look easy.
The overall glance of your site is excellent, as smartly as
the content material!

28 03 2014
recipe for a happy marriage

I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never
found any interesting article like yours.
It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all website owners
and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than
ever before.

28 03 2014
key to happy marriage

I think the admin of this web site is truly working hard in
support of his web page, for the reason that here every data is quality based stuff.

1 08 2014
Chinchilla Habitat Photos

This is really fascinating, You are an overly professional blogger.
I havee joined your feed and look forward to looking for more of yohr wonderful post.
Additionally, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks

19 09 2014
active acne

Hi there to every single one, it’s genuinely a good for
me to visit this web site, it contains helpful Information.

Leave a Reply

