Welcome Windows Server 2008

28 08 2007

Its been quite long since Windows Server 2008 Beta is available and the latest is Beta 3. Thought let us explore the new server version and I installed the Beta 3 in my Virtual PC hosted in Vista Ultimate. The installation took nearly 50 minutes and after the installation , Windows took me straight to the desktop as the default user Administrator was not set with a password and the Server Installation doesn’t ask for Administrator password during the setup. But the Welcome Screen displays that the Administrator password is not been set šŸ™‚

The Welcome Screen had many information and the one I was searching for was Adding Roles to my Server and it was there under the Customize This Server option. So I go now to explore the new Add Roles wizard in Server 2008.

My goal is to set up the Active Directory Services (ADS) and join a Vista Business to the newly created domain and authenticate the Users.

Before proceeding configure your network settings for both server and vista machine. I have set up 10.0.0.1 for server and 10.0.0.2 for my vista machine.

Once you click the Add Roles option a nice wizard with all the possible roles one wold expect pops up

server-roles-1.png
(click to enlarge)

This is so handy that I could configure many roles in a single wizard. It also handles dependencies

server-roles-2.png
(click to enlarge)

So I selected a few from the available options. I also noticed that Sharepoint Services has been integrated with Server 2008 which is quite nice. I havent worked much with Sharepoint, but I just selected. My final selection is below,

server-roles-3.png
(click to enlarge)

Next, it gives brief description and what to do for each of the Roles that you selected and few have more options to select.

server-roles-4.png
(click to enlarge)

server-roles-5.png
(click to enlarge)

server-roles-6.png
(click to enlarge)

server-roles-7.png
(click to enlarge)

server-roles-8.png
(click to enlarge)

server-roles-9.png
(click to enlarge)

server-roles-10.png
(click to enlarge)

server-roles-11.png
(click to enlarge)

server-roles-12.png
(click to enlarge)

The above information on what we are installing and also the information and warnings corresponding to each role can be saved in a file as well sent to printer.

Finally, I clicked on Install

server-roles-13.png
(click to enlarge)

server-roles-14.png
(click to enlarge)

The installation went on for nearly 20 mins and then I was greeted with one 1 error, 7 warnings ! The error was related to Sharepoint Services (grr…gosh I didnt select what I dont knew) and the warnings were that the system required a Restart to complete its process. Again, the errors, information and warnings corresponding to each role can be saved in a file as well sent to printer.

server-roles-15.png
(click to enlarge)

So I went ahead and did a restart. Remember, we had selected Terminal Services and once I was back to my server desktop, I got the usual Terminal Services Licensing error where if you havent configured Terminal Services Licensing Server, Server would prompt you to configure and would display the minimum days. Its usually 120 days in Windows Server 2003, but here I noticed 119 days, lol.

server-roles-16.png
(click to enlarge)

And the installation of Add Roles continued for another 30 mins

server-roles-17.png
(click to enlarge)

And again I was reported with 1 error and that being Sharepoint Services !

server-roles-18.png
(click to enlarge)

I didnt take much care there as I am not going to try Sharepoint Services now and exited the wizard. I was greeted with another window popping up which was Server Manager – One place to manage all Roles and Features of your Server !

server-roles-19.png
(click to enlarge)

Now It was time to configure ADS and make this Server as Domain Controller. Under the Roles , Active Directory Domain Services was listed and it prompted me to this Server as Domain Controller by running the Active Directory Domain Services Installation wizard.

server-roles-20.png
(click to enlarge)

The Wizard was similar to the one in Windows Server 2003

server-roles-21.png
(click to enlarge)

Selected to Create a New Domain below

server-roles-22.png
(click to enlarge)

server-roles-23.png
(click to enlarge)

server-roles-24.png
(click to enlarge)

So here came a difference in the Forest Functional Level and three levels were available,

  • Windows 2000
  • Windows Server 2003
  • Windows Server Codename “Longhorn”

Since I was going to test with Vista machines, I selected as Longhorn

server-roles-25.png
(click to enlarge)

server-roles-26.png
(click to enlarge)

server-roles-27.png
(click to enlarge)

server-roles-28.png
(click to enlarge)

server-roles-29.png
(click to enlarge)

server-roles-30.png
(click to enlarge)

I selected the Reboot on completion which I think is quite handy šŸ™‚

After the Reboot, my Server was configured as domain controller.

So now I switched on my Vista Business virtual machine and added the machine to the new domain. For this,

1) Login as Administrator or Super User in your Vista Machine

2) Right Click on My Computer

vista-add-domain-right-click.png
(click to enlarge)

3) Click on Properties, you would get the System information page and under the Computer name, domain and workgroup settings click on Change Settings

vista-add-domain-change-settings.png
(click to enlarge)

4) Now you would get the Systm Properties dialog box and click Change

vista-add-domain-change.png
(click to enlarge)

5) Now you would get the Computer Name/Domain changes dialog box. Select Member Of instead of Workgroup and enter the Domain Name we just created.

vista-add-domain-member-of.png
(click to enlarge)

It will prompt for username and password for the Domain and you have to enter a account which has Administrative privileges.

So, now if the credentials you entered were correct, you would be greeted with a welcome message and requested to restart. After a restart you could login to the domain with a domain username and password šŸ™‚

And finally here is the information about its been added to the domain, hurray !

vista-domain-info.png
(click to enlarge)

Later when I looked into the IIS configuration the IIS Default Website and the Sharepoint Website where both using port 80 and that might have cause the error. Event viewer was helpful to find what was blocking the default website and sharepoint website started. I changed the ports and I didnt get any error there after šŸ™‚

I find the Add Role wizard really helpful here as I can configure all my roles at once and also you could remove them at once.

I have to yet explore on Group Policies, Terminal Services.
Note
====
The time taken to accomplish the Add Role wizard may differ from machine to machine and my timings are based on Virtual PC environment running under,

  • Intel Core 2 Duo T5300 1.73 Ghz
  • 2 GB RAM
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

