Things I like in Vista – Network Diagnostics – Diagnose and Repair

11 10 2007

winvista_v_web.jpg

I really like this feature as it eases the pain regarding what is wrong with your network and why aren’t you able to browse the local network or Internet or why the network is down.

I am writing here because this has worked for me whenever I had problems with my network or adapter and it works most of the time πŸ˜‰ [success rate – 95% πŸ˜€ ]

To start with, you need to have a problem with your LAN connection or modem or any other connection πŸ˜‰

To diagnose and repair a connection, right click on the Network icon in your taskbar and choose Network and Diagnose

vista-nd-0.png

And then, you would see a dialog box Identifying the problem,

vista-nd-1.png

So, if there is any problem found or if Windows thinks that though there are no problem, but doing certain things would improve your connection, it will display them. You may encounter with many types of resolutions and problems. I have managed to get a few and here they are,

vista-nd-2.png

vista-nd-4.png

vista-nd-8a.png

vista-nd-6.png

Once you choose your option, it would try Repairing

vista-nd-5.png

After repairing, it does a cross check again for possible existing problems if so,

vista-nd-7.png

After successfull repairing,

vista-nd-3.png

This has helped me many times as am in DHCP network and sometimes I have to renew my lease and need not worry what is wrong in the network. The Windows Network Diagnostics would detect the problem and repair for me πŸ˜€

Cool, isnt it πŸ˜‰

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 08 2008
geniv

Windows XP has this feature too. It just wasn’t put on the tool bar. It is located inside the Network connection.

Vista shows some improvement over XP, but overall I still think XP is better. πŸ™‚

26 07 2009
tariq

diagnose repairing

Wireless intarnet not working

6 03 2011
ZaRiR

This solution did not do anything good for me?
So what is it actually good for?
It didnt even tel me what it could be then or come up with anything which could be wrong..

Leave a Reply

