Intel Core 2 Duo == 64 bit

13 02 2008

Well, I knew this only today 😦

When I fired up Windows Experience Index details page, I saw something which made me to do a research on this. Here it is,

System  
Manufacturer Dell Inc.
Model MM061
Total amount of system memory 2.00 GB RAM
System type 32-bit operating system
Number of processor cores 2
64-bit capable Yes

My processor is Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T5300 @ 1.73GHz

And I started a discussion at Geekzone forums and it seems that all Intel Core 2 Duo technology are 64 bit enabled!

Here is a chart from Intel showing the features of Intel Core 2 Duo processors 🙂

I am happy that my laptop is 64 bit enabled and can support upto 4 GB of RAM! ( but at the same time I am sad that it doesn’t support Intel Virtualization Technology for Hyper-V)

Dell never advertised that it is 64 bit enabled and in fact the Vista Business I got with my Dell is 32 bit. Thank God, I have a Vista 64 bit Ultimate RTM with me 😉

Actions

Information

One response

13 02 2008
David Xie

You should upgrade your RAM asap 😉

Leave a Reply

